Thursday, March 14, 2013


Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Not too often do you read books with this kind of intensity and depth, or with the kind of beautiful, descriptive writing, or that have such barely constrained passion bursting through the story. Marcus Sedgwick is truly one of my favorite authors (see Revolver and White Crow), because each one of his books, this one being no exception, stand out from the crowd of other YA literature. I loved this one because you can feel the history and weight of time behind the story, and the resolution is surprising and memorable. 

I say story, but really Midwinterblood is comprised of seven stories with common threads woven throughout, and as you get farther in you start to see how everything connects and the true storyline that transcends time. The enchanting, mysterious setting contributes a lot to the atmosphere of the book. It's a place where things aren't what you think they are, and secrets and traditions reveal the dark, sometimes violent side of the picturesque, remote Blessed Island.

I just can't get over this book. It's haunting and memorable, and the meaning builds and builds and the writing is simply masterful. I read it through twice and couldn't get enough. It's fairly short, and would definitely appeal to readers who enjoyed books like Tiger Lily, Monstrous Beauty, The Raven Boys, Cloud Atlas, or possibly even The Night Circus

No comments:

Post a Comment